Featuring six daily stages, the Karwendel Höhenweg high-altitude trail is one of the shorter multi-day hiking routes. As the main route runs from west to east, the stages are numbered in this order in the overview.

Reith Nördlinger Hütte

Stage 1

This stage starts in Reith bei Seefeld, heading via the Schartlehnerhaus and through the mountain pines of the Schoaßgrat ridge on the way to the Nördlinger Hütte mountain hut.


Stage 2

Beginning at the Nördlinger Hütte, the second stage of the high-altitude trail leads across the Ursprungsattel ridge and the Eppzirler Scharte gap before coming to the Solsteinhaus.


Stage 3

The longest stage of the high-altitude trail sees mountaineers travel from the Solsteinhaus to the Pfeishütte via the Gipfelstürmerweg and Goetheweg trails.


Stage 4

Departing from the Pfeishütte, this stage initially takes in the Stempeljoch saddle before joining up with the Wilde Bande trail that leads to the Bettelwurfhütte.

Alpen Mohn

Stage 5

The starting point of our hike – the Bettelwurfhütte – is also known as the ‘eagle’s nest’ of the Karwendel mountain range. This stage heads via the Lafatscher Joch saddle and leads to the Hallerangerhaus.


Stage 6

The final stage along the standard west-to-east route begins at the Hallerangerhaus and ends in the town of Scharnitz which is the western gateway to the Karwendel mountain range.

This post is also available in: Deutsch Italiano